About Us

The Kern Groundwater Authority is comprised of the following members:


Arvin-Edison Water Storage District
Cawelo Water District
City of Shafter
Kern County Water Agency
Kern County
Kern-Tulare Water District
Kern Water Bank Authority
North Kern Water Storage District
Olcese Water District
Rosedale-Rio Bravo Water Storage District
Semitropic Water Storage District
Shafter-Wasco Irrigation District
Southern San Joaquin Municipal Utility District
Tejon-Castaic Water District
West Kern Water District
Westside District Water Authority
Wheeler Ridge-Maricopa Water Storage District


The Authority provides local policy makers, stakeholders, and the public a forum to monitor, report and/or discuss groundwater activities and identify and address any local groundwater issues.


The Kern Groundwater Authority was formed for the purpose of:

1. Coordinating groundwater management programs and activities;

2. Identifying and addressing issues pertaining to sustainable groundwater management; and

3. Establishing a framework for local groundwater management.
For Kern County, retention of local control is critical to the continued success of what is arguably the most complex and innovative water management system in the nation.

Kern Groundwater Authority | Bakersfield, California | Phone 661-589-6045