The Kern Groundwater Authority (KGA) provides local policy makers, stakeholders, and the public a forum to monitor, report and/or discuss groundwater activities and identify and address any local groundwater issues.


The KGA was formed for the purpose of:

  1. Coordinating groundwater management programs and activities;
  2. Identifying and addressing issues pertaining to sustainable groundwater management; and
  3. Establishing a framework for local groundwater management.


For Kern County, retention of local control is critical to the continued success of what is arguably the most complex and innovative water management system in the nation.

Member Agencies

Arvin Community Services District

Arvin-Edison Water Storage District

Cawelo Water District

City of Shafter

Kern County Water Agency

Kern-Tulare Water District

Kern Water Bank Authority

North Kern Water Storage District

Rosedale-Rio Bravo Water Storage District

Semitropic Water Storage District

Shafter-Wasco Irrigation District

Southern San Joaquin Municipal Utility District

Tejon-Castaic Water District

West Kern Water District

Westside District Water Authority

Wheeler Ridge-Maricopa Water Storage District

© Kern Groundwater Authority, 2019